This morning I desperately need truth and power

Have you ever had one of those days when you knew you couldn’t do it on your own? No matter what you could do on your own, the forces against you were insurmountable. The obstacles you were facing are just too much, too big, too ridiculous, or too insane to fight and win. Some days the baloney is just too much and we can’t handle it.

That is what David was facing in Psalm 63. He was on the lam, running for his life, he was somebody who had become a nobody and had much time to think about it. He ran from cave to cave camping out. No KOA campground or state park cabin, this was Afghanistan, Bin Laden style; rocky caves, crazy heat, thirsty all the time, no good coffee, chased by the law, a man wanted for treason with a death penalty facing him. He wasn’t guilty, but tell that to a dictator who acts like he owns your life and can take your life by giving the order. You could say it was an awful time to be alive.

Desperate? You betcha. The evil one’s most effective surface to air missile. Enter – the reality of an enemy that appears to be winning meets the strongest of all armies and allies. Desperation is the hot button that morphs the doctor into the incredible Hulk; the gas thrown on the flame; the Red Bull in the veins! Desperation is one of the most potent ingredients. It brings us to the powerful avenger that says a resounding “NO” to the evil one’s plan to deliver the death blow. When we take matters into our own hands, we are saying to the God of the universe, “you’re not big enough to handle this one, I’ll take it from here.” He says look up and see my power and my fame. Then He covers us with a force field called “the Wing” and safely brings us to a place that is better than life.

Believe it today. It is mission accomplished and there is a new super hero in town. His name is Jesus and he is powerful enough to conquer any problem!

“O God, You  are  my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for You In a dry and thirsty land Where there is no water. So I have looked for You in the sanctuary, To see Your power and Your glory. Because Your lovingkindness  is  better than life, My lips shall praise You. Thus I will bless You while I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name. My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness, And my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips. When I remember You on my bed, I meditate on You in the  night  watches. Because You have been my help, Therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice. My soul follows close behind You; Your right hand upholds me. But those  who  seek my life, to destroy  it,  Shall go into the lower parts of the earth. They shall fall by the sword; They shall be a portion for jackals. But the king shall rejoice in God; Everyone who swears by Him shall glory; But the mouth of those who speak lies shall be stopped.” (Psalm 63:1-11 NKJV)

Leave a Reply

