Save a $1,000 Day 13: Make Some Sweet Moolah

money_crop380wThere are two ways to have more at the end of the month: spend less or make more. So far, I’ve talked about cutting back on spending, but I haven’t addressed ways to increase the money you have coming in.

There’s a simple reason for this. In my years as a financial counselor, I’ve seen it countless times. A person comes in for counseling and tells me, “If I only made more, my money issues would go away.” Instead of taking my advice, they take on a third job, increase their income for a time, and are back in my office in within a year.

So, increasing income is fine, but unless it comes hand in hand with prudent spending, it means nothing. So I offer this tip with a caveat: Do not let your expenses rise to your income. 

That said, there are many ways to bring in some extra dough which I detailed in this post: 28 Ways to Make Money on the Side

Potential Monthly Savings: $100 – $500

Leave a Reply

