Miracle in the Mundane

700-590742

Jennifer Allison has another fun and poignant God story for us!

It was a typical 90-degree summer day and here in the South that always goes hand-in-hand with extreme humidity, which makes simply walking outside feel like you’ve been bathed in honey.  And it was time to mow the lawn… again. Ugh!

This is a task I do not particularly enjoy.  In fact, I could honestly say I’d rather get a series of rabies shots at my doctor’s office than have to work an hour in that kind of heat walking back and forth across the yard every single weekend.  I try and keep myself motivated by hoping I’ll shed a few pounds in the process.  But, usually I just grumble.

As I began laboring up the hill on this thick, sweltering Saturday I began thinking, “Oh, Lord help me.  I hate this.  I’m tired.  I’m itchy.  This just sucks.”  Then, BOOM!

The Holy Spirit blindsided me with a very vivid flashback.  In my mind I was suddenly transported back to a moment 20 years ago in my life.  There I was—24 years old and 6 months pregnant with my son.  At that time I lived in a tiny, run-down shack of a house.  I was not married.  I had been a rebellious wild child all of my life.  God was pursuing me.  Parents were praying for me.  I was in the process of breaking, but I had not surrendered quite yet as I fought to stay self-sufficient.  My shell of a home had no refrigerator, no stove, no a/c and certainly no cable TV.  I was made even poorer by the fact I could not continue my job of cleaning hotel rooms any more while I was pregnant.  I was alone, scared, and totally broke.  God was trying to get my attention but apparently I’m a slow learner, and strong-willed to boot.

I had just been visited by a strange man who let me know my neighbors were all complaining about the knee-high jungle that was growing in front of my house.  In a firm and condescending tone he informed me if I didn’t mow my yard immediately I would be fined, or my landlord would be notified and I would be asked to move out.

So, now I had a real problem.  I had no lawnmower, no money to hire someone to help, and I was pregnant.  So, I began a sheepish appeal to God under my breath saying, “Oh Lord, help me!”

Next thing I know a friend drove up to my house and said, “I happened to see this $30 lawnmower at a garage sale today and I thought you could use it.”  I’m sure they were just embarrassed to visit me in my forest of weeds.  So, they left me the lawnmower and went on their way.

I began to think, “Well, that was an amazing coincidence.  Okay, okay, maybe it was a miracle.  Thank you, GOD, that I have a lawnmower now.  But how am I supposed to take care of this thick overgrown brush with my fat baby belly?  I can’t risk harming this child… now what?”  Well, I had no other options so I figured I’d just take it reeeeeeeal slow and take a break between each pass across the yard so that I didn’t overdo it.

So I started up the mower and set out to accomplish my daunting task.  I quickly realized the job would’ve been more successfully tackled with a machete.  This was way more difficult than I could handle.  I felt like a complete idiot.  I was humiliated.  I had no idea how I was going to build a future for my son like this.  I had lived such a reckless and rebellious life that I didn’t have anyone to call for help now, except God.  I was defeated.  “Okay God.  I get it.  I can’t do this by myself.”  Then out of nowhere a young boy about 12 or 13 years old walked up to me and said, “Ma’am, I’d like to finish your lawn for you.”

For the first time in my life I became fully aware that God had His big, loving arms around me, despite my constantly trying to run away from Him.  Tears filled my eyes as I became embarrassed at my persistent arrogance at believing I was the one who was in control of all things.  I finally felt grateful.

BOOM! All of a sudden my flashback ended and I was back in today’s reality.  I had been so caught up in the memory of how God pursued me and provided for me that I had not even been aware of the last hour I spent plowing across my lawn.  I began to praise God. I was giddy. First I thanked Him for reminding me of His faithfulness, and provision in my life over the last 20 years.  I have a very nice house now with a well-manicured lawn.  My son and I are healthy and able.  I also thanked Him for never giving up on me, and for relentlessly pursuing me.  Then I laughed out loud at myself and thanked Him for helping that day’s chore go by quickly and effortlessly as He kept me distracted.

I believe God likes showing up and showing off for us if we’d just pay attention and relinquish control over to Him. He truly is in control of all things.

– Jennifer Allison

Matthew 6:26
Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

2 thoughts on “Miracle in the Mundane

  1. I remember the young Jennifer that I visited and prayed for. God does hear and answer
    our prayers. That is a wonderful remembrance God allowed you to have. You are a wonderful writer. Keep it up.
    love, Pat Godsey

  2. Pat, you were very instrumental in helping Jennifer, at a very troubled period in her life. You truly fleshed out the love of Christ and remembrance of her spiritual birth will always bring memories of deep gratitude to you. For His Glory Alone!!!

Leave a Reply

